Skip to main content

Gillian Bingley

I can provide regular and flexible childcare provision. Day time, night time, unsociable hours, weekends, overnight stays, school holidays and respite. Short term contracts and one off stays for emergencies. I have disabled access to all downstairs rooms and a downstairs bathroom. I love being outdoors and have lots of space - indoors and out - to provide stimulating play and support learning. I have a very large garden with outdoor play equipment and a separate kitchen garden where we grow fruit and vegetables and keep 5 mild natured chickens. There are low raised beds where children can join in with digging, sowing and planting and helping the vegetables to grow and later harvesting, preparing and eating the produce. Learning about the growing process from seed to plate, composting and organic growing.(This delighted the Ofsted inspector) We also have a rabbit and a sleepy old cat. There are lots of parks and walks near to where I live and we regularly travel further afield to visit places such as Hemsworth water park and Newmillerdam to feed the ducks. I'm a very patient person and I love to see children thrive on learning through play, enjoying new experiences and tasks and developing their individuality. I have a separate play room and I enjoy a range of craft activities.  I've worked with children professionally for 16 years, initially with children with specific learning needs and later as a mainstream school teacher. I have Qualified Teacher Status and will shortly be able to deliver 2 and 3 year old funded places. My children are now grown up and just my youngest son lives with me. He is DBS checked and a qualified sports instructor and sometimes helps to organise games and activities. Both my children were born premature (5 weeks and 9 weeks) and I have first hand experience of the individual medical and educational needs every child requires. I understand how exhausting being a parent can be. I fill 3 of my places on a regular basis and aim to use my other allocations for flexible child care arrangements. Please feel free to contact me with details of your needs and if I can help I will. Standard rate after 8am up to 6pm £4 per hour, unsociable hours after 6pm until 8am £5, weekend rates from £5 per hour and overnight rates from £30, pick ups and drop offs from £2 per journey when I can fit them in. I work weekends and close Thursday and Friday.

Who to contact

Contact Name
Gillian Bingley
Telephone

Where to go

Address
319, Dodworth Road
Barnsley
Postcode
S70 6PN

Other Details

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£4.00 Childminder cost per hour
Details
Retainers taken for School Holiday only children 50p per hour reduction for siblings. Overnight/weekend fees available on request.

Childcare Information

Age Range

From
0 years,
To
18 years,

Vacancies

Immediate vacancies
Yes
Details
one place for age 1+ Mon, Tue Wed all day. 3 weekend places including a baby place. Some availability for over night stays and emergencies etc.

Funded Places

3 & 4 year old funding
Yes
2 year old funding
Yes

School Pickups

Offers pickups
Yes
Details
By parental request for local provision

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
EY469377
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 

Local Offer

Description

My home has a large, open plan kitchen and dining room with double doors opening to the play room and an archway to the lounge. This provides disabled access to all downstairs rooms with the addition of a full bathroom downstairs.

I can offer respite, and have a sofa bed downstairs if stairs cannot be negotiated.

I can provide short term contracts and one off stays for emergencies. 

Please feel free to contact me with details of your needs and if I can help I will. Standard rate 8am to 6pm £4 per hour, unsociable hours after 6pm before 8am £5, weekend rates from £5 per hour and overnight rates from £30, pick ups and drop offs from £2 per journey when I can fit them in. I work weekends and close Thursday and Friday.

Schools Extended Local Offer Response

How do we offer support to children or young people with a special educational need or disability?

I will invite parents and the child to have visit days and introduction settling in visits. I will work with parents to support the child to settle and discuss individual needs. I will work with other previous providers and professionals to make sure your child’s routines are not disturbed too much during the initial period.

As a previous secondary teacher I have worked with children of many disabilities including; Dyslexia, dyspraxia, Asperger’s, children on the Autism spectrum, children with English as an addition language EAL, Global learning delays and children with emotional, social & behavioural difficulties. I am willing to undertake any additional training to meet the needs of your child. I will work with parents to ensure both the child and parents feel comfortable before leaving their child in my care. I will complete an individual care plan for your child if necessary.

All children who attend my setting are individuals and as such all learning is approached through play following the Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS) by using the children’s interests and working towards individual learning in an age and stage appropriate way. I encourage the children to be outdoors as much as possible and I am currently in the process of developing a sensory area in the garden. 

I provide a daily feedback book and I share your child’s learning and care with you each day. I will complete a learning progress file to  show your child’s progress and I will share this with you at regular intervals.

Progress and care is reported via a daily diary and learning is shared at regular intervals during the year.

I would work closely with you as parents as well as other professionals to ensure that your child settles well and is supported to transition to their next stage of educational learning. Communication is key ensure that all parties including the child are kept informed of any changes.

You as parents, are encouraged to write in the child’s daily diary to advise me of any learning that you have witnessed as well as any specific care needs that I need to be made aware of for any particular day I will share the progress made at the end of the day with you as we celebrate your child’s achievements. I will share with you your child’s learning progress file at regular intervals. Ideas that parents want to share will always be welcomed.

What specialist training, experience and expertise do we have relevant to children with special educational needs and disabilities?

I have over 16 years experience in the education system and my own son who was born prematurely and had delayed development, of working with children with special education learning needs. My home is fully accessible with downstairs facilities and plenty of room to manoeuvre a wheelchair.

I am paediatric first aid trained and keep this up to date.

How accessible is our setting?

All activates undertaken would be planned to include all the children attending on that particular day. No child would be made to feel different. Risk assessments would be completed for any additional activities.

I have a fully accessible setting with parking at the front with a wide gate in the garden. The setting downstairs has toileting facilities and although I have a step to the garden I would if needed ensure that it can be made accessible for wheelchairs and any children with restricted movements. I am currently in the process of developing a sensory garden to the rear of my property.

Last updated on 28/03/2019
rating button