Skip to main content

Katie Jordan - Thurlstone's Little Explorers

Welcome to Thurlstone's Little Explorers

My name is Katie and I am an Ofsted registered childminder. I live in Thurlstone with my 5 year old twins and my partner.

I' m  a registered childminder  located in Thurlstone S36, I have over 10 years of experience working with children, from gaining my Degree in Early Years, completing my Early Years professional status, working in various childcare settings to gain experience and then 9 years of working as an Early Years teaching assistant before becoming a childminder in sept 2019.

I offer high quality childcare in a warm and homely environment. I aim to make children's time with me fun and engaging by offering a range of indoor and outdoor play opportunities as well as hands on experiences. To see what we have been up to lately check our my Facebook page - Thurlstone's Little Explorers- Childminding services.

I work between 7:30 am and 6:00 pm Monday to Friday. I care for children from birth to 14 years. I can provide early education funded spaces (for 2 and 3 to 4 year old's) as well as school drop off and pick ups from Thurlstone primary school.


Who to contact

Contact Name
Katie Jordan
Contact Position

Where to go

Thurlstone's Little Explorers
50 Westfield Avenue
South Yorkshire
S36 9RN

Other Details


Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
£8 Breakfast Session
£12 After School Session
£40 Childminder cost per day
£20 Half Day

Childcare Information

Age Range

0 years,0 months
14 years,0 months


Immediate vacancies
I have spaces for school drop off and pick up from Thurlstone primary school and limited Early years places (0-5 years) please get in touch discuss your needs.

Funded Places

3 & 4 year old funding
2 year old funding

School Pickups

Offers pickups
Thurlstone Primary

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 

Local Offer

Schools Extended Local Offer Response

How do we offer support to children or young people with a special educational need or disability?

Any concerns would initially be discussed with parents.Then I would speak to other professionals to gain specific advice. Observations and assessments would enable me to identify any developmental gaps. I would seek additional training, resources  and support when needed for the child.

I work closely with parents and children and follow the EYFS to track each child's development to help support their needs. I individually plan around each child's starting points and observations.

Parents and Carers are kept informed of their child's progress and achievements through daily communication and learning journals. 

Communication involves:



text / Whats App





What specialist training, experience and expertise do we have relevant to children with special educational needs and disabilities?

I work very closely with other professionals, including speech and language therapists, health visitors, social workers and school staff.

I have previously worked in a school where i gained experience and knowledge with a wide range of children with additional needs. I will always endeavour to update my knowledge and professional development to support any child in my setting.

How accessible is our setting?

Children are active in the decisions about what topics they would like to learn about and where they would like to go. All our outings are risked assessed to ensure suitability for all children within my setting. Resources are bought with children's next steps and planning in mind.

Unfortunately my property is not wheel chair accessible as we have steps down to our property from the road, a small step into the property and no downstairs toilet facilities.

Last updated on 09/06/2021
rating button