Skip to main content

Butterflies Childcare : Karen O'Connor (Childminder)

Hello and welcome to 'Butterflies Childcare'.

I live with my cat in a new-build property in a cul-de-sac near to Junction 36 of the M1 motorway.  Although I am new to Childminding, I have had a very rewarding career in childcare for many years, working in a variety of settings including foundation units and school nurseries, private day nurseries (most recently as baby room leader), children's centres, crèches, primary schools, pre-schools and Out of School clubs - I am extremely proud we were nominated for and were the recipients of awards. I have been part of successful Ofsted, Social Services, Healthy Foundations and Environmental Health inspections.

Over the years I have continued with my professional development, I have achieved a BA Honours Degree in Working with Children, Young People and Families, and have completed the Pre-Registration course for Childminders in Barnsley. I have a current Paediatric First Aid, Designated Lead in Safeguarding, Food Hygiene and Safety, and an enhanced DBS certificate.  I have completed the Food Standards Agency 'Safer food better business for Childminders' portfolio. I am a member of PACEY (Professional Association for Childcare and Early Years), and I continue with my professional development including networking and attending meetings with Barnsley's Early Years team, and completing training such as 'Nutrition in the Early Years', 'Transitions' and 'Supporting Children's Emotional Well-being' to enable me to provide the best possible care that I can.

I endeavour to create a home from home environment where your child will be well cared for and become part of the family.  I believe the opportunities available in a child's life have an impact and influence the rest of their lives.   I am dedicated and motivated to meeting children's individual holistic needs by providing stability within a fun, caring, nurturing and stimulating environment.  I hope for children to be safe, happy and healthy individuals, where they can make their own choices and are supported to be 'as safe as necessary', to enable them to participate in activities that will provide a challenge such as using scissors to cut play dough and paper, climbing up and along play equipment such as on the monkey bars at the park, or using a knife to spread butter onto bread to make a sandwich, empowers children to be independent, and self-reliant, boosts their confidence and ability in themselves, and increases children's opportunities and experiences they will develop and thrive.

To promote your child's learning and development, there will be planned and spontaneous trips and outings such as visits to the park, library, play areas including trampoline park, and playgroups, meeting up with friends, going for woodland walks, and feeding the ducks at local nature reserves, saying hello to the animals at farms and wildlife park, providing real-life experiences such as writing a shopping list and going to the supermarket and pushing our own little trolley up and down the aisles, or helping to set the table for meals and so on, as well as a variety of quality age and stage appropriate activities such as playing with bubbles and balls, sand, mud and water play, stories and story sacks, obstacle courses, den building and picnic's in the garden - especially with our teddy bears, singing and dancing, musical instruments, building using blocks, stacking cups and bricks, arts and crafts including play dough, junk modelling, and painting, puzzles and games, small world play with cars and garage, trains and train track, dinosaurs and diggers, fairies and frogs, sensory play and treasure baskets, pretend play, gardening and baking. 

'The Adventures of Teddy Bear' is part of our 'Butterflies Childcare' Facebook page where you can see some of the things Teddy and I have been doing.

I appreciate choosing the right childcare can be very daunting, so write a list of questions to ask, and contact me for a chat.

Thank you :-) 

Who to contact

Contact Name
Karen O'Connor
Contact Position
Childminder
Telephone
E-mail
butterflieschildcare42@hotmail.com
Notes

Regular bus routes for Barnsley and Sheffield are nearby.

Where to go

Postcode
S70 5SU

Other Details

Costs

Table of costs
Table of costs
AmountCost Type
Monday to Friday: £4.00 Childminder cost per hour
Saturday: £5.00 Childminder cost per hour
Details
Snacks, drinks and meals are included, however please bring in your own formula milk, nappies, wipes and so on. Any costs such as admittance into play areas, farm, playgroups and so on are included in the fees to the value of £5.00. Please go onto the Government's 'Childcare Choices' website as there may be some additional help with childcare costs available to you. Thank you.

Availability

Other notes

I am usually open throughout the year Monday to Friday between 7.30-18.30, however if your working pattern is outside of these hours please speak to me as I am flexible and may be able to help you.  Thank you. 

Childcare Information

Age Range

From
0 years,0 months
To
6 years,0 months

Vacancies

Immediate vacancies
Yes
Details
There are a few vacancies available throughout the week. Term time only places are available.

Funded Places

3 & 4 year old funding
Yes
2 year old funding
Yes

School Pickups

Offers pickups
Yes
Schools
Birdwell Primary

Ofsted Information

Ofsted URN
2573508
Link to latest ofsted inspection report 

Local Offer

Description

How I offer support to children or young people with a special educational need or disability.

There are a comprehensive set of policies and procedures in place.

There will be discussions with parents and carers during the initial visit to ensure that I can meet the individual needs of the child and their family.

Observations are completed on a regular basis as part of children's individual development journals, these will enable me to identify any developmental needs. If required, I would seek additional training, resources and support.

Any concerns I have would initially be discussed with parents and carers, and I will then speak to other professionals to gain specific advice.

I work closely with parents and carers and follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to track each child's development to support their needs.  Children have their individual planning which considers their age, stage of development and interests.

Parents and carers are kept informed of their child's progress and achievements through daily communication and learning journals.  I will chat with parents and carers at the start and end of their child's session, complete individual daily diaries, send messages via text and 'WhatsApp' and by email.

What specialist training, experience and expertise I have that is relevant to the children with special educational needs and disabilities.

I have previously worked in settings on a one-to-one and group basis where I gained experience and knowledge of working with children with a wide range of additional needs. 

I have completed 'SENCO' training for Childminders, and I will update my professional development as required.

I have worked closely with other professionals, including speech and language therapists, health visitors, social workers, and the settings staff following children's education, health and care plans.

How accessible is the setting?

My home is within a cul-de-sac off Sheffield Road (A61), near to the Dearne Valley Parkway (A6195) and Junction 36 of the M1 Motorway.  There are regular bus services for Barnsley and Sheffield including X2, 66, 67, 67a, 67b, 67c, and X17.

There is an upward slope from the footpath and road to my front door, that leads into the hallway where there are downstairs toilet facilities.  There is a step into the garden from the French doors in the living room.  The garden is surrounded by fencing and a gate that I keep locked.

Risk Assessments have been completed and reviewed annually (or sooner if necessary) to ensure the environment, activities, resources, and outings are suitable.

A healthy and nutritious menu has been planned, but can be changed as necessary.  Due to my own food allergies and intolerance's, the setting does not have bananas, shellfish, or nuts on site.  Children who have their own dietary requirements, I will liaise with parents, carers, dietitians and other professionals to see how to meet their needs.

Thanks a lot for reading :-)

 

Last updated on 01/04/2021
rating button